Shopping cart

Mrs. Dalloway (Kobo eBook)

Mrs. Dalloway By Virginia Woolf Cover Image
Available Now


Follow English aristocrat, Clarissa Dalloway, in a single day of post-Great War life as she battles haunting recollections of the past. From the pioneer of stream-of-consciousness novels, Mrs. Dalloway is one of Virginia Woolf’s most famous works.

Originally published in 1925, Virginia Woolf’s fourth novel, Mrs. Dalloway, is a short lyrical work that entwines the stories of three characters who are struggling to cope with life after World War I. Written in her trademark stream of consciousness, Woolf’s Mrs. Dalloway is largely plotless and examines characters in a dreamlike style. Taking place over the course of a single day, the novel is set in London and explores the perspectives of three different characters living in the city. The raw intimate feelings of Clarissa Dalloway are exposed, alongside that of her husband, Richard Dalloway, a Conservative MP, and Septimus Warren Smith, a war veteran who is suffering from PTSD.

Embedded with themes of existentialism, feminism, and mental illness, the book largely takes place in Clarissa’s memories. Her one talent is organising events, but while she busies herself in the planning of her latest party, her mind slips into distant recollections and Woolf allows her reader to delve into the past.

Read & Co. Classics has proudly republished this much-loved Virginia Woolf novel in a new edition, complete with a specially commissioned author biography. Not to be missed by collectors of Woolf’s work, Mrs. Dalloway is a classic of English literature that would be the perfect addition to any bookshelf.

3019 Oakland Dr.
Kalamazoo, MI 49008

Open Monday - Saturday

Phone (269) 385-2847