Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

A History of My Brief Body (Paperback)

A History of My Brief Body Cover Image
$15.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


"An urgently needed, unyielding book of theoretical and intimate strength." --Kirkus Reviews, starred
The youngest ever winner of the Griffin Prize mines his personal history in a brilliant new essay collection seeking to reconcile the world he was born into with the world that could be.

For readers of Ocean Vuong and Maggie Nelson and fans of Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot, A History of My Brief Body is a brave, raw, and fiercely intelligent collection of essays and vignettes on grief, colonial violence, joy, love, and queerness.

Billy-Ray Belcourt's debut memoir opens with a tender letter to his kokum and memories of his early life in the hamlet of Joussard, Alberta, and on the Driftpile First Nation. Piece by piece, Billy-Ray's writings invite us to unpack and explore the big and broken world he inhabits every day, in all its complexity and contradiction: a legacy of colonial violence and the joy that flourishes in spite of it; first loves and first loves lost; sexual exploration and intimacy; the act of writing as a survival instinct and a way to grieve. What emerges is not only a profound meditation on memory, gender, anger, shame, and ecstasy, but also the outline of a way forward. With startling honesty, and in a voice distinctly and assuredly his own, Belcourt situates his life experiences within a constellation of seminal queer texts, among which this book is sure to earn its place. Eye-opening, intensely emotional, and excessively quotable, A History of My Brief Body demonstrates over and over again the power of words to both devastate and console us.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781937512934
ISBN-10: 1937512932
Publisher: Two Dollar Radio
Publication Date: July 14th, 2020
Pages: 142
Language: English
3019 Oakland Dr.
Kalamazoo, MI 49008

Open Monday - Saturday
9am-6pm

Sunday
9am-4pm
Phone (269) 385-2847
Email bookbugkalamazoo@gmail.com